To drive any vehicle on any public street, you must have liability insurance and either a full registration or a valid movement permit. You must obtain a permit to drive an unregistered vehicle for an emissions test or to the DMV for a VIN inspection if necessary.
In private party sales, the seller is required to keep the license plates. The buyer must use alternate transportation to obtain a movement permit from the DMV.
Permits issued to private parties are folded into the size of an index card and taped into the lower right-hand corner of the windshield.
You must present proof of ownership to obtain a movement permit. Examples include an expired registration or the signed-off title of a vehicle purchased from a private party.
The DMV issues several types of permits depending on the customer's needs. Most permits issued for specific purposes, such as driving for an emissions test, cost $1.00.
You may purchase a permit for other uses for a fee of $8.25 per day.
You also may purchase a special 15-day "drive away" permit for vehicles being driven out of state. These are valid for a one-way trip to a specific destination only.
Nevada auto dealers are required to issue a placard upon the sale of a vehicle. Placards are the size of a license plate and are issued by licensed dealers only.
Out-of state commercial vehicles are required to obtain a permit to operate in Nevada. Vehicles registered for Nevada under the International Registration Plan are exempt. All others must obtain a permit.
These vehicles must obtain a Nonresident Business Permit.
Per NRS 482.3961, com vehicle that allows operation of their vehicle for the purposes of engaging in the business of the non-resident within the state of Nevada must apply for a Nonresident Business Permit.
A nonresident who:
shall, within 10 days after the commencement of such operation, apply for a Nonresident business permit for the vehicle.
The Nonresident Business Permit is required for each vehicle operated within the State of Nevada. The permit is not transferable and non-refundable. Businesses must obtain the permit(s) within 10 days of commencement of operations.
The Nonresident Business Permit expires one year from the date of issuance. All applications must be completed in person.
To apply for the Nonresident Business Permit, you must meet the requirements in three areas:
All documents must be originals. We do not accept a photocopy or scanned copies. Documents with an expiration date must be valid and unexpired.
You must apply in person at a DMV Full Service office and bring the required documents.
The cost for the first vehicle permit is $200.00. $150.00 for each additional vehicle permit. The cost for a duplicate decal is $5.00.
The vehicles required to get this permit are any motorized vehicle 10,000 pounds or less in weight. If the vehicle weight is over 10,001 please see Motor Carrier Permits or contact Motor Carrier at 775.684.4711 option 1. Vehicles registered for Nevada under the International Registration Plan are exempt.
All non-motorized vehicles such as trailer, special mobile equipment and towable tools, do not qualify for the Nonresident Business Permit.
The Nonresident Business Permit will be mailed to you within 30 days of issuance. At the time of application and issuance, you will receive a 30-day temporary Nonresident Business Permit.
Per NRS 482.3961, violators are guilty of a misdemeanor and may be cited by law enforcement or constable. The first offense can be a fine of not more than $500.00. The second offense can be a fine of not more than $750.00. Each vehicle is considered a separate offense.
The documents required with the application must be verified by the DMV staff. For this reason, permits are not offered online or at kiosks.
Nonresident Business Permits are not transferable to any other vehicles registered. Simply let the permit expire. It does not have to be returned.
Come in to any DMV Full Service office to apply for a duplicate permit. The duplicate will have the same expiration date. The cost is $5.
No, your vehicle is already registered in the State and is not required to get this permit.
Vehicles with a Combined Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 10,001 pounds or more are required to get registration permits before entering the state. Fuel tax permits are required for vehicles 26,001 pounds or more or any vehicle with three or more axles.