The Nevada DMV replaces nearly all license plates every eight years under a "rolling reissue" program that began in July, 2016.
If your license plates are more than eight years old, you may receive replacement license plates in the mail after you renew. Please ensure we have your correct address.
New plates will have the same number. Plates with the Sunset background will be converted to the Home Means Nevada background. Specialty plates will keep the same style. Nearly all replacement plates will have embossed lettering.
Plates and decals are mailed separately. Place your new decal on your new plates when you receive them. DO NOT put the decal on your old plates. If you lose the decal or put it on the wrong plate, the fee for a duplicate decal is $6.00.
Renewal postcards, web services and kiosks indicate whether you will be receiving plates. The plates are manufactured and mailed only after you renew the registration.
|Renewal postcard without plate reissue|
|Renewal postcard with plate reissue|
You may not be required to replace your plates right away even if they are older than eight years.
Many plates are up to 15 years old. Because of the large number of outdated plates in use, the department will replace older plates over a period of three years.
Nearly all standard and specialty plates including discontinued plates will be replaced. The following plate styles are exempt:
UNLV and UNR plate styles changed in 2010 and 2011, respectively, but registered owners were not required to change to the new styles. Although the Department is confident as to which style a customer has, it is not 100% guaranteed. If your reissued UNLV or UNR plates are the wrong style, the DMV will make the correct plates and mail them at no charge. Contact us.
The DMV encourages our customers to recycle the old license plates with us to ensure proper disposal unless the original owner wishes to keep them. You can mail them to the Carson City DMV or return them at the information counters at DMV offices. Please include a note specifying the reason for the return.
Department of Motor Vehicles
Central Services Division
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0700
The average life expectancy of a license plate is 5 to 10 years. As plates undergo general wear and tear, plate visibility becomes a public safety issue, significantly impacting the ability of law enforcement to identify license plates.
Physical damage, adhesion loss, fading, bubbling and corrosion are all factors that combine to reduce the ability of the human eye to read license plates. Reduced reflectivity further exacerbates law enforcement’s ability to identify plates, especially at night.
The 2015 Nevada Legislature passed Assembly Bill 484 to implement the rolling reissue and address these concerns. Additionally, existing license plate specifications call for plates to be readable from a distance of 100 feet during daylight. At night, plates must be readable from 110 feet when lit by standard headlights.
Registration renewals that include replacement plates will include a Prison Industry Fee of 50 cents per plate in addition to all other applicable registration fees.
Renewals may or may not include a Plate Cost Recovery Fee of $3.50 per plate.
Generally, this fee will be applied to plates with the standard Sunset background, including Classic Vehicle and similar plates. The total fees for a set of two are $8.00.
Special plates which raise funds for charity already include a production fee and will not be charged the Plate Cost Recovery Fee. The total fees for a set of two are $1.00.
These fees are valid for reissued plates at the time of renewal only. If your plates are unreadable and you are not due for a reissue, please order Duplicate License Plates.