Beginning January 1, 2015, anyone under the age of 18 who applies for an instruction permit, driver’s license or driver authorization card must provide the DMV with proof that he or she meets the minimum Nevada school attendance requirements.
The applicant must submit a Certification of Attendance (DMV 301) form when applying for an instruction permit. When the student comes in to take the driving skills test, a new DMV-301 is required to be submitted, regardless of when the instruction permit was issued. A DMV-301 must be submitted if the student renews an instruction permit as well.
Certification of Attendance (DMV 301)
For drivers under 18 to show proof of school attendance.
These requirements do not apply to applicants 18 and older regardless of school attendance or status.
Clark County High Schools
School offices will close for a few weeks this summer. There is an attendance enforcement office available for students to get the DMV 301 (certificate of attendance) form completed. Call (702) 799-7830. You must call first and speak to an attendance clerk. The address is 120 Corporate Park Drive, Henderson, NV 89074
The Certification of Attendance form is also used to suspend or deny the driving privileges of a student who has been declared a habitual truant.
New laws effective 1/1/15 spell out the process used by schools to declare a student truant. See the following links for more information:
Nearly all Nevada beginning drivers under 18 must complete a driver education course. You can enroll at age 15. Exceptions are not made for home-schooled students. There are three options:
You may take courses offered by a public or private high school or a DMV-licensed professional drive school. The course consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction. Some private schools also offer a course consisting of 15 hours of classroom instruction and 5 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Schools must be specifically approved for this by the DMV.
See Professional Driving Schools for a list of licensed schools. The Department of Motor Vehicles licenses and monitors professional driving schools but does not regulate schedules or pricing.
All professional schools issue a Certificate of Completion which must be presented to the DMV when you apply for your full license. High schools may or may not issue a Certificate of Completion. A report card or official transcript is also acceptable.
The driver education course or experience is not a requirement to obtain an instruction permit. It is a requirement for a driver license.
Young drivers can obtain an instruction (learner's) permit at age 15½. You must present proof of your identity and Nevada residential address. This is typically a certified, U.S. issued Birth Certificate, your Social Security Card and two documents to prove your address.
Nevada has three sets of requirements for proof of identity. Most motorists will apply for a Real ID driver's license or a standard Nevada license.
Those who cannot meet the requirements for a Real ID or standard license may apply for a Driver Authorization Card (DAC), which is not valid for identification.
See Residency and Proof of Identity and choose the card that is right for you.
You must bring original proof of identity and address documents when you apply. An existing ID card or out-of-state license or permit is not adequate proof unless it is Real-ID compliant.
You must pass the vision and written tests and have a parent/guardian sign the financial responsibility section on the application. The licensing fee is $23.25.
A $26 testing fee will be charged prior to the written test and covers both the written test and the initial skills test. An $11 retest fee will apply to all retakes. Written testing closes early - one-half hour or up to one hour before the DMV office closes.
You will receive an interim paper document that allows you to drive. The actual instruction permit will be mailed within 10 business days. You may drive only with a licensed driver, 21 years or older, with at least one year of driving experience seated next to you at all times.
The minimum level of acceptable vision is 20/40 in one eye. If a driver must wear glasses or contact lenses to meet this standard, Restriction A will be placed on the license or permit.
The knowledge test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions based on the Nevada Drivers Handbook. Passing score is 80%.
Instruction Permits are valid for one year. If your permit has expired, you must apply for renewal in person at a DMV office, a parent/guardian must sign another Financial Responsibility Statement and you must submit a new Certification of Attendance (DMV 301).
If the permit is expired more than 30 days, you will have to take the written test again. A testing fee will apply in addition to the renewal fee. If the permit is expired more than one year, you will have to show Proof of Identity.
The parent/guardian who signed the Financial Responsibility Statement when the minor applied for the permit can request its cancellation at any time by completing the Minor Affidavit (DP-38) form and presenting it in person at a DMV office. Nevada law requires the permit itself to be surrendered to the DMV.
The department can require testing, cancel a permit or deny the renewal if the applicant has been convicted of traffic violations or other offenses listed under License Suspensions and Revocations.
Young drivers are required to complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience. You must have a licensed driver, who is 21 or older and has been licensed for at least one year, seated next to you at all times. 10 hours of the experience must be completed in darkness. The darkness requirement does not apply to motorcycle licenses. Motorcycle experience should be completed in daylight only.
If driver education is not offered within a 30-mile radius of your residential address and you do not wish to complete an online course, you must complete 100 hours of supervised experience, 10 hours of which must be in darkness.
You must keep a written log of the dates and times of this experience on the form provided by DMV. Your parent or guardian must sign this form and submit it when you apply for your full license. Fill in the form after each driving session and have it fully completed before your skills test.
You must complete the log on the official DMV form. If your insurance company requires a log, you must keep it separately. Time spent behind-the-wheel with a professional driving instructor counts toward the required hours.
DMV also provides the Beginning Driver Training Guide to help parents and their teens make the most of the behind-the-wheel experience. It contains lists of specific skills and how to practice them plus Nevada traffic laws and more.
You must be 16 years old to apply for a full license. You must also:
Use online scheduling or call the DMV to schedule a driving skills test when you have met the requirements for Driver Education, Behind The Wheel Experience and Time Limits and Restrictions. If someone else schedules the test for you, they must have your instruction permit number or Social Security Number.
|Las Vegas area||(702) 486-4368|
|Reno/Sparks/Carson City||(775) 684-4368|
|Elsewhere in Nevada||(877) 368-7828|
Bring the following with you:
You can take the skills test in any passenger car or truck which is properly registered and insured except a rental car. The examiner will perform a vehicle safety inspection and check the Certificate of Registration and Evidence of Insurance card.
The examiner will give you instructions on where to drive for the test. Serious traffic violations such as speeding or failure to yield will result in automatic failure. Examiners use a point system to grade other aspects of performance. If you fail the test, the examiner will explain why and instruct you on how to re-take it. A 30-day time limit can be imposed.
Once you have passed the Driving Skills test, you return to the DMV to have your new license processed. The fee is $23.25 We will punch a hole on your instruction permit and return it to you along with an interim paper document that certifies your driving privilege. The actual license will be mailed to you within 10 business days.
Nevada minor licenses feature distinctive designs to help retailers identify underage customers. They contain the same special markings for Real ID or other types of cards as adult licenses.
The license is printed in a vertical format. The date the bearer will turn 18 is printed in red type. See Driver License Designs for more information.
Young drivers may not transport any passenger under the age of 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after the license was issued. Penalties for violations include extending the restriction for six months or more and fines for repeated violations.
Drivers under 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are traveling to or from a scheduled event such as school events or work. Law enforcement may ask for satisfactory evidence of the event. This applies to all drivers under the age of 18 until they turn 18.
Although local curfews are not related to driving, minors must know and obey the local laws.
9 p.m., unless accompanied by an adult.
10 p.m. Sunday - Thursday
Midnight on Friday and Saturday
Las Vegas Metro Police (702) 229-3535
9 p.m., unless accompanied by an adult.
Midnight all weekdays
Reno Police Department (775) 334-2677
Curfews in other Nevada cities vary. Call the local police department.
Nevada has a .02 blood alcohol limit for drivers under 21.
Drivers can also be arrested for any detectable amount of a controlled or prohibited substance.
Minor driver licenses can be suspended for any of the same reasons as adult licenses and also for non-driving alcohol/drug convictions, firearms violations or habitual truancy. See License Suspensions.
The parent/guardian who signed the Financial Responsibility Statement can request cancellation of the license at any time until the driver turns 18. Complete the Minor Affidavit (DP-38) form and present it and the license in person at a DMV office. The license must be surrendered.
Parents/guardians who knowingly and willfully allow an underage driver to drive without a license or drive in violation of any of the minor driver laws are held responsible for any fines and/or restitution imposed following a citation or accident.
Any adult who knowingly serves, sells or furnishes alcohol to a minor, or allows the minor to consume alcohol on his property, can be held liable in a civil action for any damages caused as a result of the alcohol consumption. This also applies to the use of controlled substances by persons of any age.
Nevada honors out-of-state instruction permits. If the permit is valid in your home state, you can drive in Nevada with a licensed driver 21 years or older seated next to you. Nevada also honors out of state driver licenses, but you must follow Nevada's restrictions.
Drivers education is not required for any applicant age 18 or older, or for a driver under 18 who has received a license with full driving privileges issued by another state. All applicants under 21, however, must take vision and written tests. See our New Resident Guide.
Applicants with restricted or graduated licenses or those with out-of-state instruction permits must complete drivers education unless they live in an area of Nevada which is exempt. The Beginning Driver Experience Log also must be completed.
Out-of-state drivers education classes are accepted if the course instructor completes an affidavit that the school's curriculum meets or exceeds Nevada's standards. The form and curriculum requirements are listed below.
Whether you are moving to another state or just visiting, you should be able to drive with a Nevada Instruction Permit as long as you follow the laws of the other state as they pertain to having a licensed driver with you, curfews, etc. Check with law enforcement or state DMV in each area where you will be traveling. If you are moving permanently, contact your new state's DMV for information on driver education and other requirements to obtain your license.