Contact: Kimberly J. Evans
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711
Office: (775) 684-4554
Pager: (775) 861-5897
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 11, 1999
NEWS FROM: Motor Vehicles 99-161
DMV&PS Clarifies Governor's 30-Day Grace
Period on Vehicle Registrations
Grace period applies only to customers who
have submitted renewal and are waiting for their vehicle tags.
The Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety's Motor
Vehicle Branch is providing the following clarification of the recent announcement by
Governor Guinn of the 30-day grace period for Registration renewals:
The 30-day grace period is applicable for:
- Customers who have mailed in their registration renewals
and currently have not received their registration renewal stickers.
- Customers who have placed their renewal notice in a DMV
drop box at a field office and have not received their registration renewal stickers.
- Customers who provided their renewal to a DMV supervisor at
a DMV field office who indicated to the customer that they would process their renewal and
mail their renewal stickers to them.
The 30-day grace period is not applicable
- Customers who are currently holding an expired registration
renewal and have not made an attempt to visit a field office, mail in their renewal or
place it in a drop box at a DMV field office.
- Customers who have recently received their renewal notice
and believe they now have an extra 30 days until their registration will expire.
- Drivers license renewals, new registrations or motorists
with an expired registration who are traveling out of state.
Penalties and late fees mandated by Nevada
statutes will be enforced for customers in the "not applicable" category.
For questions regarding the 30-day grace period, please call the statewide DMV hot line
phone number at 1-877-DMV-STATE.