IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 29, 2005
NEWS FROM: Director's Office 05-011
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles has released new and updated training materials to help Nevada teenagers and their parents comply with Nevada’s new laws on underage driving.
“Our new publications, and the new laws themselves, will help teenagers get through their first years of driving safely,” said DMV Director Ginny Lewis.
The Nevada Beginning Driver Training Guide is a new, 48 page manual containing specific skills and lessons to help parents teach their teenagers safe driving. The new guide and the updated Nevada Driver Handbook are now available online. Printed versions are being distributed to DMV offices statewide.
The DMV is also releasing a new training video on DVD that details the requirements for teens to apply for an instruction permit and then their full license. This will be made available to driving schools and other interested organizations.
The training guide and video are being funded by a $47,000 federal grant administered by the Nevada Department of Public Safety’s Office of Traffic Safety. The Office of Traffic Safety has identified teenage driving as one of its priority areas for this year.
New restrictions on teen drivers, passed by the 2005 Nevada Legislature, go into effect October 1st. Among other provisions, teens must now keep a written log of the required behind-the-wheel experience and be 16 years old before they can receive a full license. The new laws limit the teen’s ability to carry passengers for the first three months and limit night driving until the new driver turns 18.
Details of the new laws and all teenage driver requirements are listed on the Department of Motor Vehicles web site at www.dmvnv.com/teens.
-- 30 --