If you have purchased a vehicle from a Nevada dealer, you may be able to complete the registration online without a trip to the DMV! You can transfer your current license plates or get new standard plates through the mail. It’s quick, easy, and best of all, no lines!
Sorry, but you must visit a DMV Full Service Office to register your new vehicle if you did not purchase it from a Nevada dealer or if it is a motor home or a trailer.
See Private Party Sales, Nevada Dealers, Out-of-State Dealers or our New Resident Guide. See Motor Carrier for apportioned registration and vehicles over 26,000 pounds.
Get Started with Online Registration - Log in to your MyDMV account, create an account or choose "No Thanks" to just register your vehicle.
How It Works
Dealers submit their sales information to the DMV online and issue what is called an Electronic Dealer Report of Sale (EDRS). Use the control number and last 4 digits of the Vehicle Identification Number to register online or create a MyDMV account.
There are two styles of the EDRS that can be used to register your vehicle online.
Most dealers issue the EDRS on plain paper as shown here. The plain paper form is mandatory as of July 1, 2014.
A few remaining dealers may issue a green form with a stamped red control number. If your green DRS form is marked "EDRS", you can complete your registration online.
Getting It Done
- Have your DRS and Nevada Evidence of Insurance card ready and go to MyDMV. Register for your account if you don't already have one. You may pay registration fees by e-check, debit or credit card.
- If you are obtaining new plates or have moved recently, check your address listings under "Records" in MyDMV and complete a Change of Address if needed.
- You may transfer plates up to 18 months after they have expired.
- If you are transferring plates, any credit on your existing registration will be applied to the new registration. If you obtain new plates, you will not be able to apply the credit from your old plates.
- Your vehicle will be registered immediately upon successful completion. If transferring plates, the registration on your old vehicle is immediately surrendered.
- A temporary permit prints with your receipt. Tape this in the lower right-hand corner of the windshield and keep the receipt in the vehicle.
- Your Registration Certificate and Validation Decal will arrive at the address listed on the DRS in four to seven days.
- If you are receiving new plates, they will arrive separately in seven to 10 days.
Some additional restrictions apply. Motor homes and trailers cannot be registered online. Vehicles 26,000 pounds and over are registered through the Motor Carrier Division. Certain license plate styles such as Professional Firefighter and antique/classic vehicles cannot be transferred. See the complete list below.
You must obtain liability insurance from a Nevada-licensed carrier in the exact name(s) which will be on the registration and title. The effective date of the policy must be equal or previous to the registration date. Coverage is verified electronically with your insurance company.
Motorists who do not maintain Nevada liability insurance are subject to a registration suspension, reinstatement fee/fine, possible SR22 requirement and driver’s license suspension.
Out-of-state insurance is not accepted. See Vehicle Insurance Requirements. You must present a Nevada Evidence of Insurance card at registration and carry one in your vehicle at all times.
You must transfer your existing license plates to receive credit from the unused portion of your existing registration. Credits cannot be applied retroactively. We do not issue refunds.
Credits from other registrations or other sources may not be applied during an online registration.
You must register in person at a DMV if any of the following apply.
- You are an individual and the DRS form does not include your Nevada Driver’s License Number (DLN), or the number is incorrect.
- You are a business and the DRS form does not include your FEIN, or the number is incorrect.
- Your name is misspelled.
- You need to change your address.
- You want to use an exemption such as veteran, widow, tribal or farmer/rancher.
- You want new personalized or specialty license plates.
- You wish to transfer certain license plate styles such as antique or classic vehicles. See the list below.
- You wish to use credits other than a credit on the license plates being transferred.
- Your vehicle is a motor-home or a trailer.
- Your physical address on your Nevada DLN, or on file with the DMV, is in Clark or Washoe County and you want to base your vehicle in a different county.
- You currently have a bad debt, Insurance Verification sanction, or parking tickets.
- The gross vehicle weight rating of the vehicle is 26,001 pounds or more.
Non-Transferable Plate Styles
- Antique Truck/Tractor
- Amateur Radio
- Classic Rod
- Classic Vehicle
- Consular Corps
- Exempt Vehicle
- Exempt Motorcycle
- Fire Truck
- Horseless Carriage
- Manufactured Housing
- Motor Carrier
- Old Timer
- Old Timer Motorcycle
- Professional Firefighter
- Street Rod
- Motorcycle license plates can only be transferred to another motorcycle. These plates cannot be transferred to another vehicle type using the online registration feature.