If you have received a post card asking you to renew in person, you must do so. The only exception to this is made for active-duty military members.
It is your responsibility to renew your license on time whether you receive a notice or not. Please keep your address current with us. See Address Changes. A postal forwarding order is not sufficient.
You may renew early at any DMV office in Nevada. We encourage early renewals for military members and others who may be out of the state for an extended period.
Nevada issues licenses that comply with the federal Real ID Act of 2005.
Existing license holders must choose either a Real ID driver license or a standard driver license. You must show proof of identity and residential address to obtain a Real ID.
Watch our self-help videos! Click on the video icon and choose English or Spanish.
A Real ID compliant license is marked with gold circle containing a star. A Real ID will be required for those who wish to use a driver's license or state ID to board aircraft beginning October 1, 2020. See Real ID Enforcement in Brief for details and other instances where a Real ID is required.
To obtain a Real ID license, you must show proof of identity and residential address one time at the DMV. Most license holders submitted proof of identity in the past. You must show the documents again to obtain a Real ID.
A standard Nevada license is marked "NOT FOR FEDERAL OFFICIAL USE" and, in the future, will not be valid for boarding aircraft or other uses outlined in Real ID Enforcement in Brief.
You do not have to present any documentation other than your existing license for renewal. You may use the internet, kiosk or mail options below if you are eligible to do so.
Nevada is transitioning to licenses that are valid for eight years instead of four.
If you were born in an even-numbered year, you will receive an eight-year license at your next renewal. You must renew in person at a DMV office. The fee is $42.25.
If you were born in an odd-numbered year, you will receive a four-year license at any renewal through 2017. You may be eligible to renew by internet, mail or kiosk. The fee is $23.25. You will receive an 8-year license with your renewal in 2018 or later.
Motorists age 65 and older will receive a 4-year license only. The fee is $18.25.
The new expiration terms do not apply to licenses with a shorter term issued to immigrants and certain other motorists.
Veterans with an honorable discharge may have a designation placed on their license next to the license number. See the picture above. Bring your evidence of honorable discharge to your next renewal or mail a copy with a mailed renewal. Visit archives.gov to obtain a copy of your DD-214 or other evidence of honorable discharge.
CDL holders must renew in person. All medical certificates issued on or after May 21, 2014, must be issued only by examiners listed in the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. See Commercial Licensing.
Permits must be renewed in person at a DMV office. If the permit has been expired more than 30 days, you will have to take the written test again.
Many motorists have licenses that are valid for less than four or eight years. Some also hold a license that expires on a date other than their birthday. Nearly all of these licenses must be renewed in person.
Motorists with instruction permits, certain medical conditions, registered sex offenders and those who hold Driver Authorization Cards have annual renewals.
If U.S. immigration documents are used as proof of identity, the expiration of your license will coincide with the departure date on your immigration documents. These licenses will be marked "LIMITED TERM".
If the departure date is four years or more in the future, your license will be valid for four or eight years under the rules above.
If the immigration document indicates “D/S” (Duration of Status) instead of an actual expiration date, the license will expire 1 year from the date of issuance. The fee charged will be that of a 4-year card.
If you are out of the state and cannot reach a Nevada DMV office, you may download and complete an Application for Nevada Driver License By Mail (DMV 204). Please email or call before completing this application. It will be returned if you do not qualify for a mail renewal or if there is any unusual problem with your license.
If you have received a post card asking you to renew in person, you must renew at a DMV office. You may renew at any DMV office in Nevada.
If your license has been expired 30 days or less, you may renew without penalty by mail if otherwise qualified or in person. If your license has been expired 31 days or more, you are required to renew in person at a DMV office. A $10 late fee will apply.
If your license has been expired one year or more, you must renew in person and take the written test. If your license has been expired for four years or more, you will also have to take the skills test.
If you are outside of Nevada - If you received a renewal notice, you may renew by mail up to 30 days after expiration. Licenses which have been expired 31 days to one year may be renewed by mail (if otherwise qualified) with an additional $10 late fee using an Application for Nevada Driver License by Mail (DMV 204). Please contact us for eligibility requirements.
Nevada residents who are currently members of the Armed forces, their spouses, dependents or certain federal employees may be eligible to renew by mail up to 2 years after expiration. Please contact us for eligibility requirements.
If you did not receive a renewal notice, please call or email and include your current address for instructions.
You may renew your license at any time in person at a DMV office. You may visit any DMV office regardless of your city or county of residence.
This is highly recommended for those who are planning an extended trip outside of Nevada. Active-duty military members are encouraged to renew in person when visiting Nevada.
If your expiration date is less than 6 months away, the new year of expiration will be set four or eight years ahead. If the expiration date is 6 months to one year from the date of renewal, the year of expiration will be set three or seven years ahead. See 8-Year Licenses for details.
The same 6-month rule applies if you are renewing more than a year ahead of expiration. For example, if the expiration is one year and five months from the date of renewal, the new year of expiration will be set three years or seven years ahead. If the expiration is one year and seven months away, the new year of expiration will be two or six years ahead.
You must have obtained your license or renewed in person within the last 4 years, be at least 20 years old on your next birthday and were born in an odd numbered year. You must not have had more than two moving violations or any license suspension, revocation, cancellation or denial within the last 4 years.
If you do not meet these qualifications, you must renew in person at DMV office. Those born in even-numbered years must renew in person.
You may be required to take written and/or skills tests depending on your driving history. All drivers are required to renew in person at least once every eight years.
You must have a renewal notice with access code to renew by Internet. If you received a post card asking you to renew in person, you must visit a DMV office.
It's fast, easy, secure and best of all, no lines! You may renew your driver license with the access code from the renewal notice. In most cases, you will receive a new license with your existing photo in the mail within 7-10 days. Get started here.
Address Change. You may change your address online before you renew with a MyDMV account. Sign up! It's easy, fast and free! Renewals are sent to the address on record. A postal forwarding order is not sufficient to ensure delivery of your license.
Choose e-check. We accept electronic checks, Visa, MasterCard and Discover. Using e-check saves taxpayer dollars through reduced fees. Debit cards are processed as a credit card.
Renew early! Don't wait until the last minute. We do not accept late renewals online.
If you received a post card asking you to renew in person, you must visit a DMV office. The only exceptions are for members of the Armed Forces, their spouses, dependents or certain federal employees.
You should mail your renewal if you have received a renewal notice but are not eligible for Internet or kiosk renewal because of an unusual problem.
If you do not receive any notice or post card, please call or email your name, current address and driver license number. You may be able to renew without a DMV office visit. Nevada residents out-of-state should call (775) 684-4560 or toll-free (877) 368-7828. We may ask you to include a Payment Authorization Slip (VP 205) for fee payment on mailed or faxed renewals.
The DMV honors the postmark on mailed renewals. We will not assess late fees if the postmark is up to 30 days past the expiration date. You may renew by mail up to one year late if otherwise qualified. A $10 late fee will apply.
You must have a renewal notice with access code to renew at a DMV kiosk. If you received a post card asking you to renew in person, you must visit a DMV office.
See Kiosk Services for locations. Kiosk renewals carry an additional $1 processing fee. In most cases, you will receive a new license with your existing photo in the mail within 7-10 days. Kiosks do not accept late renewals.
If you have not already received a Real ID, you must choose whether to upgrade to a Real ID or a standard license. See the Real ID section above.
Please be sure to bring any additional documentation required for a Real ID or other reasons such as immigration status, medical letter, etc.
An in-person renewal and knowledge test is required if you have had more than two moving violations or any license suspension, revocation, cancellation or denial within the last 4 years. You may also be required to pass a driving skills test.
Nevada restriction codes have changed. The letter designating your restriction may be different the next time you receive a new license.
Restriction A for Corrective Lenses is now Restriction B. See the Restriction Code Matrix for the full list. The full text of restrictions will continue to be printed on the back of licenses.